Wiki Le Seigneur des Anneaux
Advertisement
Wiki Le Seigneur des Anneaux


Cardolan faisait autrefois partie du royaume Dúnedain d'Arnor. Après la mort du dixième roi d'Arnor, Eärendur, ses fils ont divisé le royaume en trois parties : Arthedain, Rhudaur et Cardolan.

Geographie[]

Les frontières de Cardolan s'étendaient de la rivière Brandevin à l'ouest, la rivière Mitheithel à l'est et la rivière Gwathló à l'est et au sud. Sa frontière nord était la Grande Route de l'Est, mais Cardolan revendiquait également les Collines du Vent contrôlées par Arthedain, qui contenaient la forteresse d'Amon Sûl et son précieux Palantír. Pour cette raison, les collines du vent ont été revendiquées par les trois royaumes - Arthedain, Cardolan et Rhudaur de l'ancien Arnor. Ce différend territorial a continué jusqu'à ce que Rhudaur devienne un vassal d'Angmar après l'échec de la lignée des rois Dúnedain.

Histoire[]

Lorsque le royaume d'Angmar est né dans le nord de l'Eriador, Cardolan est devenu l'allié le plus important d'Arthedain. Il a dû combattre les armées combinées d'Angmar et de Rhudaur. Il est vite devenu évident que Cardolan ne pouvait pas retenir les forces d'Angmar et dans ses dernières années, le peuple s'est retranché dans la région des collines, Tyrn Gorthad. Cette position est devenue intenable après qu'Angmar a envoyé de mauvais esprits pour habiter les bas. Arthedain ne pouvait apporter que peu d'aide, car elle-même était attaquée. Vers TA 1409, Cardolan a été détruit, et ses anciens habitants ont accepté le roi d'Arthedain comme leur seigneur. Arthedain réussit à reconquérir brièvement la terre, mais peu de gens voulurent y vivre à cause des Être des Galgals, et donc Cardolan ne fut jamais repeuplé.

Après la chute finale d'Arnor et la destruction d'Angmar à la bataille de Fornost, Cardolan est vraisemblablement resté une zone non peuplée jusqu'au rétablissement du royaume du nord sous le roi Aragorn II Elessar à la fin du troisième âge.  Jusque-là, la région était en grande partie non réclamée et connue sous le nom de Minhiriath.

FANDOM



Cardolan was a realm once part of the Dúnedain kingdom of Arnor. After the death of Arnor's tenth king, Eärendur, his sons divided the kingdom into three parts: Arthedain, Rhudaur, and Cardolan.

Geography

The borders of Cardolan extended from the river Brandywine to the west, the river Hoarwell to the east and the river Greyflood to the east and south. Its northern border was the Great East Road, but Cardolan also claimed the Arthedain-controlled Weather Hills, which contained the fortress of Weathertop and its valuable Palantír. For this reason the Weather Hills were claimed by all three kingdoms - Arthedain, Cardolan and Rhudaur of the former Arnor. This territorial dispute continued until Rhudaur became a vassal of Angmar after the line of the Dúnedain kings failed there.

History

When the kingdom of Angmar arose in northern Eriador, Cardolan became the most important ally of Arthedain. It had to fight the combined armies of both Angmar and Rhudaur. It soon became apparent that Cardolan could not hold back the forces of Angmar and in its last years the people became entrenched in the hill region, Tyrn Gorthad (the Barrow-downs). This position became untenable after Angmar sent evil spirits to inhabit the downs (the Barrow-wights). Arthedain could provide little aid, as it was itself under attack. Around TA 1409 Cardolan was destroyed, and its former inhabitants accepted the King of Arthedain as their lord. Arthedain managed to reconquer the land briefly, but few people wished to live there on account of the Barrow-wights, and so Cardolan was never re-populated.[1]

After the final fall of Arnor, and the destruction of Angmar at the Battle of Fornost, Cardolan presumably remained an unpopulated area until the reestablishment of the northern kingdom under King Aragorn II Elessar at the end of the Third Age.[2] Until then, the region was largely unclaimed and known as Minhiriath.

Etymology

The name Cardolan may be dialect Sindarin for 'Red Hill Land', though J.R.R. Tolkien never specified the name's meaning.

Gallery

Translations around the world

Foreign Language Translated name
Amharic ካርድኖላን
Arabic كاردولان
Armenian Քարդոլան
Belarusian Cyrillic Кардолан
Bengali কার্দলান
Bulgarian Cyrillic Кардолан
Chinese 卡多蘭
Georgian კარდოლანი
Greek Κάρδολαν
Gujarati કારડોલન
Hebrew קרדולאן
Hindi कर्दोलन
Japanese カルドラン
Kannada ಕಾರ್ಡೊಲಾನ್
Korean 카르돌란
Macedonian Cyrillic Кардолан
Marathi कार्डोलन
Mongolian Cyrillic Кардолан
Nepalese कर्दोलन
Persian کاردولان
Punjabi ਕਾਰਡੋਲਨ
Russian Кардолан
Serbian Кардолан (Cyrillic) Kardolan (Latin)
Sindhi ڪارپوريشن
Sinhalese කාර්ඩොලන්
Tajik Cyrillic Кардолан
Tamil கார்டோலான்
Telugu కార్డోలం
Ukrainian Cyrillic Кардолан
Urdu کاردولان
Uzbek Кардолан (Cyrillic) Kardolan (Latin)
Yiddish קאַרדאָלאַן


References

  1. The Lord of the Rings, Appendix A, "The Númenorean Kings", iii. "Eriador, Arnor, and the Heirs of Isildur"
  2. The Atlas of Middle-earth, The Third Age, "The Kingdoms of the Dúnedain"
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.